LibGuides: Appalachian Studies: Home

Appalachian Review

Appalachian Review (2020- )
A literary magazine of the Southern Appalachian Region, includes poetry, short stories, literary biography and criticism, information on new regional books, literary events and news. 2020- available full-text online in Gale Academic OneFile. Some issues available in print for checkout at CDC Library.
Appalachian Heritage ( -2019)
A literary magazine of the Southern Appalachian Region, includes poetry, short stories, literary biography and criticism, information on new regional books, literary events and news. 2008-2019 available full-text online in Gale Academic OneFile. 2017-2019 available in print for checkout at CDC Library.

Suggested Books for Appalachian Studies

All titles are available from ACTC Libraries. This is not an exhaustive list.

Wayfaring Strangers by Fiona Ritchie; Doug Orr; Darcy Orr
Call Number: ML3551.7.A57 R57 2014
ISBN: 9781469618227
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
The musical voyage from Scotland and Ulster to Appalachia / Fiona Ritchie & Doug Orr ; with the assistance of Darcy Orr ; foreword by Dolly Parton.
Confronting Ecological Crisis in Appalachia and the South by Stephanie McSpirit (Editor); Lynne Faltraco (Editor); Conner Bailey (Editor)
Call Number: GE198.A33 C66 2012
ISBN: 9780813136196
Publication Date: 2012-07-05
Appalachian Legacy by James P. Ziliak (Editor)
Call Number: HC107.A127 A64 2012
ISBN: 9780815722144
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Mountains of Injustice by Michele Morrone (Editor); Geoffrey L. Buckley (Editor); Donald Edward Davis (Foreword by); Jedediah Purdy (Afterword by)
Call Number: GE235.A13 M68 2011
ISBN: 9780821419809
Publication Date: 2011-11-22

Free eBook

The Big Sandy Valley by William Ely
ISBN: 9780806301037
Publication Date: 1887
A History of the People and Country from the Earliest Settlement to the Present Time -- freely available for download from Google Play.

Suggested Online Resources for Appalachian Studies

To access off-campus, use your KCTCS user name (jsmith0001) and password when prompted by the proxy server. Please note that not all databases provide full-text access. Please use the Library's online Interlibrary Loan Request form to request the full-text of articles for which our databases only provide citations.

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia (Gale Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These accounts provide a view of the of the vast region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and provides information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region.
Community College eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the terms "appalachia" or "appalachian" to search for full-text eBooks in this database.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Covers a wide variety of topics.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. International in scope and unparalleled in breadth and depth, Academic OneFile is a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Covers a wide variety of topics.

Appalshop

Appalshop is a media arts center located in the heart of the Appalachian coalfields. They produce documentary films, grassroots media projects, radio productions, theater, and youth media. Appalshop is also home to the community run radio station WMMT-FM. Visit their website at http://www.appalshop.org.

Appalshop also has a YouTube channel featuring videos about Appalachian arts and artists, crafts and craftspeople, music and musicians, and other celebrations of mountain culture.

Suggested Websites for Appalachian Studies

Appalachian Regional Commission
The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.
Appalachian Studies Association
The mission of the Appalachian Studies Association is to promote and engage dialogue, research, scholarship, education, creative expression, and action among a diverse and inclusive group of scholars, educators, practitioners, grassroots activists, students, individuals, groups and institutions. Our mission is driven by our commitment to foster quality of life, democratic participation and appreciation of Appalachian experiences regionally, nationally and internationally.
Appalachian Voices
Appalachian Voices is an award-winning, environmental non-profit committed to protecting the land, air and water of the central and southern Appalachian region, focusing on reducing coal’s impact on the region and advancing our vision for a cleaner energy future.
Christian Appalachian Project
Faith-based organization supporting the needs of children, and their families, and seniors in Appalachia. CAP’s programs and services include providing food, clothing, and shelter, as well as home repair and disaster relief emergency response services. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, CAP relies on donations from corporations and the general public to sustain these programs.
Native History Association
The Native History Association is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the significance of Native American history and it's value as part of the heritage of Planet Earth. Based in Nashville with a focus on Middle Tennessee.

Appalachian Studies: Home