The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide, Third Edition by
Bipolar disorder is a lifelong challenge--but it doesn't have to rule your life. Find the science-based information you need in the revised third edition of this indispensable guide. Trusted authority Dr. David J. Miklowitz shares proven strategies for managing your illness or supporting a loved one with the disorder. Learn specific steps to cope with mood episodes, reduce recurrences, avoid misdiagnosis, get the most out of treatment, resolve family conflicts, and make lifestyle changes to stay well. Updated throughout, the third edition has a new chapter on kids and teens; the latest facts on medications and therapy, including important advances in personalized care; and expanded coverage of the bipolar II subtype. It features boxes on complementary and alternative treatments and provides downloadable practical tools.
The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook by
Celebrating 30 years as a classic in its field and recommended by therapists worldwide, The Anxiety and Phobia Workbook is an unparalleled, essential resource for people struggling with anxiety and phobias. Living with anxiety, panic disorders, or phobias can make you feel like you aren't in control of your life. Tackle the fears that hold you back with this go-to guide. Packed with the most effective skills for assessing and treating anxiety, this evidence-based workbook contains the latest clinical research. You'll find an arsenal of tools for quieting worry, ending negative self-talk, and taking charge of your anxious thoughts, including: Relaxation and breathing techniques New research on exposure therapy for phobias Lifestyle, exercise, mindfulness and nutrition tips Written by a leading expert in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this fully revised and updated seventh edition offers powerful, step-by-step treatment strategies for panic disorders, agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), worry, and fear. You will also find new information on relapse prevention after successful treatment, and updates on medication, cannabis derivatives, ketamine, exposure, nutrition, spirituality, the latest research in neurobiology, and more. Whether you suffer from anxiety and phobias yourself, or are a professional working with this population, this book provides the latest treatment solutions for overcoming the fears that stand in the way of living a meaningful and happy life. This workbook can be used on its own or in conjunction with therapy.
The Borderline Personality Disorder Workbook by
Introducing a breakthrough, integrative approach to managing your borderline personality disorder (BPD). If you've been diagnosed with BPD you may feel a number of emotions--including shock, shame, sadness, abandonment, emptiness, or even anger. Even worse, you may be tempted to research your diagnosis online, only to find doomsday scenarios and terrible prognoses everywhere you click. Take a deep breath. You can get through this--and this workbook will help guide you. Despite what you may have read or been told, BPD is not the worst thing that can happen to you. Like many mental health issues, it manifests on a spectrum, and while some people may encounter extreme symptoms and consequences on one end, others may be less affected on the other. What do you all have in common? You likely experience difficulty balancing your emotions, thoughts, and behaviors. And you may even have trouble seeing yourself clearly--continuously switching from the hero to the villain of the story you've written about your life. So, how can you make sense of it all and start on the road to healing? Rather than utilizing a one-size-fits-all treatment, this groundbreaking and comprehensive workbook meets you where you are on your therapeutic journey, and provides an integrative approach to treating BPD drawing on evidence-based dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), and interpersonal therapy. With this compassionate workbook, you'll gain a greater understanding of your BPD, uncover your own emotional triggers, and discover your own personal motivators for positive change. Your BPD has determined how you see and live your life, but it doesn't have to define you forever. With this workbook as your guide, you'll be ready to face your diagnosis head-on, and take those important first steps toward lasting wellness.
The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD by
If you have obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), you might have an irrational fear of being contaminated by germs, or obsessively double-check things. You may even feel like a prisoner, trapped with your intrusive thoughts. And while OCD can have a devastating impact on your life, getting real help can be a challenge. Combining mindfulness practices with cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD offers practical and accessible tools for managing the unwanted thoughts and compulsive urges that are associated with OCD. With this workbook, you will develop present-moment awareness, learn to challenge your own distorted thinking, and stop treating thoughts as threats and feelings as facts. This fully revised and updated second edition also includes new meditations, information, and chapters on emotional and mental contamination, existential obsessions, false memories, and more. If you're ready to take back your life back from OCD--and start living with more joy in the moment--this workbook has everything you need to get started right away.
Surviving Schizophrenia, 7th Edition by
Updated throughout and filled with all the latest research, treatment plans, commonly asked questions and more, the bestselling resource on schizophrenia is back--now in its seventh edition. "E. Fuller Torrey is a brilliant writer. There is no one writing on psychology today whom I would rather read."-- Los Angeles Times Since its first publication in 1983, Surviving Schizophrenia has become the standard reference book on the disease and has helped thousands of patients, their families, and mental health professionals. In clear language, this much-praised and important book describes the nature, causes, symptoms, treatment, and course of schizophrenia and also explores living with it from both the patient's and the family's point of view. This new, completely updated seventh edition includes the latest research findings on what causes the illness, as well as information about the newest drugs for treatment, and answers the questions most often asked by families, consumers, and providers. An indispensable guide for those afflicted by schizophrenia as well those who care for them, Surviving Schizophrenia covers every aspect of the condition and sheds new light on an often-misunderstood illness.
Helping Others with Depression by
A comprehensive guide to how family members and friends can help someone who has depression. Mood disorders such as depression and bipolar disorder are biologic conditions of the mind and body that affect our everyday functioning, thoughts, feelings, and actions. Often devastating to the person, mood disorders can also be overwhelming to their family and close friends, who are frequently the first to recognize the subtle changes and symptoms of depression and the ones who provide daily support. Yet many feel unsure about how to help someone through the course of this difficult and disabling illness. This book is written for them. In Helping Others with Depression, Dr. Susan J. Noonan speaks firsthand from her perspective as a physician who has treated many patients, as a mental health Certified Peer Specialist, and as a patient with personal experience in living with the illness. Her combined professional and personal experiences have enabled her to write an evidence-based, concise, and practical guide to caring for someone who has depression or bipolar disorder, including men, women, teens, and seniors. In this compassionate book, Dr. Noonan * describes effective communication and support strategies to use during episodes of depression * combines sample narratives with concrete suggestions for what to say and how to encourage and support a loved one * offers essential advice for lifestyle interventions, finding appropriate professional help, shared decision making, and paying for treatment * helps readers understand how to navigate difficult situations, such as a loved one refusing treatment or grappling with suicidal thoughts * explains how caring for a person with a mood disorder creates unique challenges--and how to address those challenges * explores how concerned loved ones can use mobile applications and other technology to help * focuses on different populations, including teenagers, older adults, and people with substance abuse issues She also covers ways to model resilience, explains the concept of recovery--while describing what recovery looks like--and explores how caregivers can and must care for themselves. Featuring tables, vignettes, and sidebars that convey information in an accessible way, as well as comprehensive references, resources, and a glossary, this companion volume to Dr. Noonan's patient-oriented Take Control of Your Depression is an invaluable handbook. Praise for Other Books by Susan J. Noonan "This practical and compassionate handbook is perfectly suited to individuals living with depression: in accessible language, it offers firm, specific advice and quick cognitive tests and self-assessment metrics that even those in the deepest of doldrums will find helpful and relevant . . . Noonan's is a valuable volume for those suffering from depression, as well as for loved ones who are fighting the fight by their side."--Publisher's Weekly "This book offers useful insight for any health professional working within mental health . . . It is of enormous value to the layperson, hungry for knowledge about how best to interact and help their loved one face the dreadful ravages of depression."--Nursing Times
Nobody's Normal by
For centuries, scientists and society cast moral judgments on anyone deemed mentally ill, confining many to asylums. In Nobody's Normal, anthropologist Roy Richard Grinker chronicles the progress and setbacks in the struggle against mental-illness stigma--from the eighteenth century, through America's major wars, and into today's high-tech economy.Nobody's Normal argues that stigma is a social process that can be explained through cultural history, a process that began the moment we defined mental illness, that we learn from within our communities, and that we ultimately have the power to change. Though the legacies of shame and secrecy are still with us today, Grinker writes that we are at the cusp of ending the marginalization of the mentally ill. In the twenty-first century, mental illnesses are fast becoming a more accepted and visible part of human diversity.Grinker infuses the book with the personal history of his family's four generations of involvement in psychiatry, including his grandfather's analysis with Sigmund Freud, his own daughter's experience with autism, and culminating in his research on neurodiversity. Drawing on cutting-edge science, historical archives, and cross-cultural research in Africa and Asia, Grinker takes readers on an international journey to discover the origins of, and variances in, our cultural response to neurodiversity.Urgent, eye-opening, and ultimately hopeful, Nobody's Normal explains how we are transforming mental illness and offers a path to end the shadow of stigma.
Thriving after Trauma by
Thriving After Trauma addresses readers who have experience trauma or loss due to a variety of experience - whether accident, abuse, or injury. Shari Botwin shows readers, through personal stories, how many who have experienced the worst kinds of trauma have managed to move on and thrive beyond their experiences. Often, those who live through trauma come away with feelings of shame, guilt, anger, and despair. These are common, even normal, responses in the immediate aftermath. Left unaddressed, though, those feelings may develop into substance abuse problems, eating disorders, depression, or anxiety. Learning how to move on, to pick up and live life again, takes effort and guidance. Botwin guides readers through the stories of others who have gone on to live fulfilling, happy lives, and provides tips and tools for healing and moving on. Letting go of the shame, guilt, anger and fear associated with tragic events is crucial to reclaiming a full life. Strategies such as, journaling, mindfulness, cognitive-behavioral restructuring, and healthy relationships to aid in recovery are explored and explained, so readers can adopt those strategies that work best for them. It is not the trauma itself that results in so many people developing self-destructive tendencies and life threatening illnesses. It is the lack of having a way to digest and make sense of the trauma-related feelings that can lead one to mental illness, disconnection, and in some cases, even death. Readers will learn how to live with the trauma versus how to get over the trauma, so they can move forward healthfully and mindfully.
We Can Do Better by
A leading psychiatrist and expert reveals important issues in mental health care today and introduces innovations to revolutionize and improve mental health for everyone. Mental health care systems are falling short and the consequences, for individuals and societies, are dire. In this urgent book, celebrated psychiatrist and mental health care advocate Dr. David Goldbloom outlines proven innovations in medicine and health care delivery that we all could benefit from today. Using fictional--but all too real--examples of people suffering from various mental illnesses, from depression to opioid addiction, and drawn from his real-life experiences in this field, Dr. Goldbloom shows barriers to care and other faults in mental health care systems. He then reveals simple, yet startlingly effective tools for improving access and treatment that can help people now--if we only had the will to share, use, and fund these (and more) brilliant innovations: -Self-referrals for faster access to care -Apps and e-tools for treatment, rehabilitation, and self-monitoring between appointments -Remote coaching for effectively treating common childhood problems -Integrated youth services to improve early intervention -Personalized care to ensure treatments don't fail patients -Rapid-access housing for the homeless and mentally ill so they can begin a journey of care While technologies such as smart phones and genetic testing play a role, these innovations are about people. They address waiting times to see specialists, the lack of coordination between health care institutions, and the stigma that often comes with seeking help--even stigma among health care providers. They broaden the definition of what mental health care can even be, such as providing housing, or low-intensity training for day-to-day life. Smart, candid, personal, and persuasive, this new book is a timely call for better access to and quality of help--a roadmap to better well-being for everyone.
The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder by
Even if you've just been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, it's likely that you've been living with it for a long time. You've probably already developed your own ways of coping with recurring depression, the consequences of manic episodes, and the constant, uncomfortable feeling that you're at the mercy of your emotions. Some of these methods may work; others might do more harm than good. The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Bipolar Disorder will help you integrate your coping skills with a new and effective dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) plan for living well with bipolar disorder. The four DBT skills you'll learn in this workbook-mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness-will help you manage your emotional ups and downs and minimize the frequency and intensity of depressive and manic episodes. By using this book in conjunction with medication and professional care, you'll soon experience relief from your bipolar symptoms and come to enjoy the calm and confident feeling of being in control. *Learn mindfulness and acceptance skills*Cope with depressive and manic episodes in healthy ways*Manage difficult emotions and impulsive urges*Maintain relationships with friends and family members
Bipolar Disorder: An Information Guide by
People who have extreme mood swings may have bipolar disorder, or manic-depressive illness. Their moods may have nothing to do with things going on in their lives. The symptoms of bipolar disorder affect not only mood, but also how people think, behave and function. This guide discusses: • what bipolar disorder is • the symptoms, patterns and causes • the treatment options • what to expect during recovery from an episode of mania or depression • how partners and family members can be supportive and helpful. This newly revised guide will help people with bipolar disorder, along with their families and friends, to navigate through the highs and lows toward recovery.
The Anxious Thoughts by
Are your thoughts getting in the way of living your life? Based in cutting-edge neuroscience and cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), this important workbook will help you regain control from unwanted thoughts and get back to the things that matter. Do you have unwanted, disturbing, upsetting, or weird thoughts that you just can't seem to shake? Violent or sexual thoughts that cause you to feel ashamed, anxious, or depressed? Maybe you think they mean something about you--and that thought scares you even more. While you may not be able to shut your thoughts off permanently, you can gain distance from them and improve your life. This step-by-step guide will show you how. In The Anxious Thoughts Workbook, renowned psychologist David A. Clark presents a targeted, transdiagnostic approach to help you move past unwanted mental intrusions. You'll learn how to change the destructive patterns responsible for the persistence of anxious and depressive thinking, and strip these upsetting thoughts of their meaning--a process Clark refers to as "detoxing." Finally, you'll learn to manage the feelings of shame that can accompany these thoughts. Are you ready to move past your thoughts and start focusing on more important things? If so, the proven-effective techniques in this workbook will help you get started.
The Anorexia Recovery Skills by
If you have anorexia, there is hope for a full recovery. The Anorexia Recovery Skills Workbook offers an integrated and comprehensive program to help you rebuild a healthy relationship with food, gain a sense of autonomy and independence, develop a sense of self-worth and self-esteem, and set healthy goals for the future. If you have anorexia, it can be difficult to see yourself clearly, even after treatment. That's why it's so important for you to have resources available to prevent relapse. Written by three psychologists and experts in eating disorders, this important guide provides evidence-based skills blending acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), and dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) to help you recover--and stay on the path to recovery. Each chapter of this workbook focuses on a theme--each important to fostering and maintaining recovery from anorexia, including: managing treatment and maintaining progress, creating and maintaining a therapeutic team, rebuilding healthy relationships and decreasing investment in unhealthy relationships, and gaining a sense of autonomy. Additionally, you'll gain insight into your anorexia, learn why it's all about control--and learn how to gain real control in healthier aspects of life. Finally, this workbook addresses developing healthy goals related to eating, as well as career, academic, and recreational goals to assist in leading a fulfilling life. You'll learn to take time for self-care, plan for challenging and difficult times throughout recovery, and maintain changes in behavior and thought patterns, such as awareness and tolerance of negative emotions, reaching out for help when needed, and effective communication. If you have anorexia, are in treatment for anorexia, or trying to maintain recovery, this compassionate, comprehensive resource provides powerful, proven-effective tools to help you stay healthy in body and mind.
Eating Disorders by
A comprehensive guide to the medical complications, diagnosis, and treatment of eating disorders. In this new edition of their best-selling work, Drs. Philip S. Mehler and Arnold E. Andersen provide a user-friendly and comprehensive guide to treating and managing eating disorders for primary care physicians, mental health professionals, worried family members and friends, and nonmedical professionals (such as teachers and coaches). Mehler and Andersen identify common medical complications that people who have eating disorders face and answer questions about how to treat both physical and behavioral aspects of eating disorders. Serious complications, including cardiac arrhythmia, electrolyte abnormalities, and gastrointestinal problems, are discussed in detail. Incorporating illustrative case studies, medical background on the complications, guidelines for diagnosis and treatment, and an up-to-date list of selected references, chapters provide comprehensive coverage of topics, including team treatment and nutritional rehabilitation. The authors also address special areas of concern, such as athletes who have eating disorders, males with eating disorders, and the pharmacological treatment of obesity. New topics include diabetes and eating disorders, osteoporosis, involuntary feeding, innovative psychological strategies, and ethical dilemmas.
The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for PTSD by
This pragmatic workbook offers evidence-based skills grounded in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT) to help you find lasting relief from trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). If you've experienced trauma, you should know that there is nothing wrong with you. Trauma is a normal reaction to an abnormal event. Sometimes, the symptoms of trauma persist long after the traumatic situation has ceased. This is what we call PTSD--in other words, the "trauma after the trauma." This happens when the aftereffects of trauma--such anxiety, depression, anger, fear, insomnia, and even addiction--end up causing more ongoing harm than the trauma itself. So, how can you start healing? With this powerful and proven-effective workbook, you'll find practical exercises for overcoming trauma using mindfulness, interpersonal effectiveness, emotion regulation, and distress tolerance. You'll learn how to be present in the moment and identity the things that trigger your trauma. You'll also find activities and exercises to help you cope with stress, manage intense emotions, navigate conflict with others, and change unhealthy thought patterns that keep you stuck. Finally, you'll find practical materials for review and closure, so you can take what you've learned out into the world with you. If you're ready to move past your trauma and start living your life again, this workbook will help guide you, one step at a time. The practical interventions in this guide can be used on their own or in conjunction with therapy.
Moving On by
About one person in a hundred will be diagnosed with schizophrenia at some time in their life. The condition can be severe and debilitating with symptoms such as delusions, hallucinations and the loss of concentration, motivation and social skills. But schizophrenia is not a degenerative or life-threatening condition and in recent years improved knowledge and understanding, psychological treatments and more tolerable medication have greatly increased people's ability to manage their symptoms and live a 'normal' life. This straightforward, accessible and inspiring guide provides information on: - The myths and misconceptions surrounding schizophrenia- The possible causes and how the illness is diagnosed- Medication and other treatment options; sources of support- Improving health and well-being- Employment - paid and voluntary- Complementary therapies - Counselling and psychotherapy The guide also includes the latest research findings and personal accounts of recovery by people with the diagnosis.
Eating Disorder Recovery Handbook by
This empathetic handbook has been created for people affected by any form of disordered eating. Thoughtfully compiled by experienced authors, it will be a comprehensive guide through every stage of your recovery, from recognising and understanding your disorder and learning fully about treatment, to self-help tools and practical advice for maintaining recovery and looking to the future. Each chapter includes suggested objectives, tasks and reflections which are designed to help you think about, engage with, and express your thoughts, feelings and behaviours. It will encourage you to process the discoveries you make about yourself for positive and long-lasting change. Encouraging quotes are included throughout from people who have walked this path and found the help they needed to overcome their own disordered eating. You are not alone on this journey.
