All titles are available from ACTC Libraries. This is not an exhaustive list.
Intercultural Communication by
This handbook takes a multi-disciplinary approach to offer a current state-of-art survey of intercultural communication (IC) studies. The chapters aim for conceptual comprehension, theoretical clarity and empirical understanding with good practical implications. Attention is mostly on face to face communication and networked communication facilitated by digital technologies, much less on technically reproduced mass communication. Contributions cover both cross cultural communication (implicit or explicit comparative works on communication practices across cultures) and intercultural communication (works on communication involving parties of diverse cultural backgrounds). Topics include generally histories of IC research, theoretical perspectives, non-western theories, and cultural communication; specifically communication styles, emotions, interpersonal relationships, ethnocentrism, stereotypes, cultural learning, cross cultural adaptation, and cross border messages;and particular context of conflicts, social change, aging, business, health, and new media. Although the book is prepared for graduate students and academicians, intercultural communication practitioners will also find something useful here.
Intercultural Communication by
This book explores the issues related to the intercultural competence of future teachers and their readiness to work with children in a multicultural environment. An increasingly large number of Chinese multinational corporations (MNCs) have expanded their presence in global markets at high speed and on a large scale. In this book, is provided an example of the Chinese pattern of global expansion by investigating a specific successful marketing effort of a MNC headquartered in the Peoples Republic China (PRC). It also looks at the problems of intercultural communication of the Gypsy ethnic group in Transcarpathia. It attends to the issues of rhythm and the aesthetic experience in the late works of Edward Hall, the founder of the discipline intercultural communication (IC), and in the ideas of John Dewey, especially in his Art as Experience. The feminization of migration opens new spaces of communication, loosens the sexual division of labor, and transforms gender roles and models. Different forms of discrimination have different effects on individual and collective identities. This book provides the elements of discussion needed for the development of public policies to protect Latin American women rights making visible gender issues in the context of the international political agenda.
Intercultural Communication by
Combining perspectives from discourse analysis and sociolinguistics, the second edition of this popular textbook provides students with an up-to-date overview of the field of intercultural communication. Ingrid Piller explains communication in context using two main approaches. The first treats cultural identity, difference and similarity as discursive constructions. The second, informed by bilingualism studies, highlights the use and prestige of different languages and language varieties as well as the varying access that speakers have to them.
COM 254 (3 credit hours)
Introduction to Intercultural Communication
Introduces intercultural communication with an emphasis on the relationships between culture and communication, social/psychological variables, verbal/nonverbal language systems, intercultural communication perceptions, and conflict resolution. Includes the practical application of contemporary issues in cross-cultural interaction, media representation, and daily social interactions to intercultural communication concepts. Lecture: 3.0 credits (45 contact hours).
Pre- or co-requisite: Current KCTCS placement scores for college level reading and writing, or consent of instructor.
Attributes: Cultural Competence, SB - Social Behavior Science
Components: LEC: Lecture
To access off-campus, use your KCTCS user name (jsmith0001) and password when prompted by the proxy server. Please note that not all databases provide full-text access. Please use the Library's online Interlibrary Loan Request form to request the full-text of articles for which our databases only provide citations.
This link opens in a new windowFind in-depth background information on controversial and current issues. Browse Recent Reports or By Topic to paper topic ideas. Reports written by CQ staff writers.
This link opens in a new windowPro/con database covers a multitude of the outstanding social, environmental, political, etc issues of the day. Various book titles available in the book collection as well.
KCTCS Course Competencies for COM 254
Upon completion of this course, the student can:
Email ACTC Library
Call ACTC Library