Bias referes to a tendency to believe that some people, ideas, etc., are better than others, which usually results in treating some people unfairly. When evaluating sources, it is important to look for and recognize bias so as not to confuse a writer's opinion with facts. It is equally important to be aware of your own biases so that you don't discount credible sources just because they differ from your opinions.
All titles are available from ACTC Libraries. This is not an exhaustive list.
Ethics: A Very Short Introduction by 
To access off-campus, use your KCTCS user name (jsmith0001) and password when prompted by the proxy server. Please note that not all databases provide full-text access. Please use the Library's online Interlibrary Loan Request form to request the full-text of articles for which our databases only provide citations.
This link opens in a new windowPro/con database covers a multitude of the outstanding social, environmental, political, etc issues of the day. Various book titles available in the book collection as well.
This link opens in a new windowFind in-depth background information on controversial and current issues. Browse Recent Reports or By Topic to paper topic ideas. Reports written by CQ staff writers.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. International in scope and unparalleled in breadth and depth, Academic OneFile is a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
Fallacies are arguments that comes to a conclusion without evidence to support them, and they come in many varieties.
Email ACTC Library
Call ACTC Library