LibGuides: HUM 120 (Introduction to Humanities): Home

HUM 120 Course Description

HUM 120 (3 credit hours)

Introduction to the Humanities

Introduces students to at least five disciplines in the humanities, such as art, literature, dance, drama, cinema, philosophy, music, architecture, religion, and mythology. Explores distinctions and relationships between the disciplines through study of their basic methods, themes, and forms. Lecture: 3 credits (45 contact hours).

Attributes: AH - Arts and Humanities

Components: LEC: Lecture

HUM 120 Faculty Contact Information

Debbie Justice
Professor
debbie.justice@kctcs.edu
606-326-2218

What are the Humanities? (YouTube Video)

Suggested Online Resources for Humanities

To access off-campus, use your KCTCS user name (jsmith0001) and password when prompted by the proxy server. Please note that not all databases provide full-text access. Please use the Library's online Interlibrary Loan Request form to request the full-text of articles for which our databases only provide citations.

Community College eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An academic and trade collection of over 60,000 eBooks covering topics in Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Covers a wide variety of topics.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. International in scope and unparalleled in breadth and depth, Academic OneFile is a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
Comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database. Covers a wide variety of topics.

Suggested Websites for Humanities

Art Through Time: A Global View Examines themes connecting works of art created around the world in different eras. The thirteen-part series explores diverse cultural perspectives on shared human experiences.
Big Think All video lessons feature a prominent thought leader and human-centered instructional design to make learning engaging and easy.
Humanities Moments The Humanities Moments project was created by the National Humanities Center in partnership with the Federation of State Humanities Councils in an effort to gather, store, and share personal accounts of how the humanities illuminate our lives.

Suggested Books for Humanities

All titles are available from ACTC Libraries. This is not an exhaustive list.

HUM 120 (Introduction to Humanities): Home