1. First and most importantly – Read and understand your assignment! Be sure you understand the requirements and limits of the assignment. Pay attention to wording, the audience, the scope of expected research, and the desired length.
2. Set up a schedule. Include library and online exploration time. Set a date for when you will decide on a topic and/or hypothesis. Allow time to gather sources. Consider deadlines for a rough outline and thesis. Take into account note taking, rough draft, and revision time, and when the final draft is due. Try this assignment calculator from the University of Kentucky.
3. Identify the purpose: look for cue words, such as describe, survey, analyze, explain, classify, compare, and contrast in the assignment.
4. Identify the audience: be sure to think about what they already know, what they will want to learn about, what assumptions they may have/receive, and what response you wish to elicit from them.
5. Identify the scope of your research: what kind of sources do you need and how many?
6. Choose a topic. Think about subjects with which you are or would like to become familiar. Search online and skim your textbooks or other reading materials. Ask yourself if the topic is:
1) interesting
2) manageable
3) has more than one angle
4) has available resources
Focus your topic so that it is not too broad or specific for the length of your assignment.
7. Develop a hypothesis or thesis statement: one interesting statement about your research that can be proved or disproved by your evidence.
8. Explore your topic: find relevant books, articles, websites, etc.
9. Adjust your thesis, if needed, based on what you learn from your research.
Adapted from “Getting Started on a Research Paper” published by the Gustavus Adolphus College Writing Center.
To access off-campus, use your KCTCS user name (jsmith0001) and password when prompted by the proxy server. Please note that not all databases provide full-text access. Please use the Library's online Interlibrary Loan Request form to request the full-text of articles for which our databases only provide citations.
Comprehensive database covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
This link opens in a new windowFind authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. *This is not a full-text database.*
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. International in scope and unparalleled in breadth and depth, Academic OneFile is a one-stop resource for academic research in all disciplines.
PSY 110 (3 credit hours)
General Psychology
Introduces the history, methods and content of modern psychology. Covers the history and systems of psychology, psychological research, physiological psychology, psychological processes, developmental psychology, personality, abnormal behavior and social psychology. Lecture: 3 credits (45 contact hours).
Pre- or co-requisite: Current placement scores for college level reading established by KCTCS or completion of, or concurrent enrollment in, transitional reading course(s).
Attributes: SB - Social Behavior Science, Course Also Offered in Modules
Components: LEC: Lecture
Email ACTC Library
Call ACTC Library