LibGuides: SOC 101 (Introduction to Sociology): Home

SOC 101 Course Description

SOC 101 (3 credit hours)

Introduction to Sociology

Introduces concepts and methods of sociology including investigation of socialization, group processes, social inequality, social institutions, and social change.Lecture: 3 credits (45 contact hours).

Attributes: SB - Social Behavior Science

Components: LEC: Lecture

Learning Outcomes/Course Competencies

As a result of taking this course in sociology, you will have:

1. gained knowledge of human cultures through the use of the sociological imagination

2. developed skills in inquiry and analysis by examining diverse cultural practices using the sociological imagination

3. integrated knowledge of these sociological concepts as a way of relating to others in a diverse global world learned personal and social responsibility through an understanding of the cultural diversity present within societies

Upon completion of this course, the student can:

1. Read with comprehension.

2. Make connections in learning across the disciplines and draw logical conclusions.

3. Demonstrate problem-solving through interpreting, analyzing, summarizing, and/or integrating a variety of materials.

4. Apply learning in academic, personal, and/or public situations.

5. Recognize the relationship of the individual to human heritage and culture.

6. Recognize the major perspectives of sociology, important Sociologists and their ideas.

7. Identify the basics of social research.

8. Demonstrate an understanding* of the sociological concept of culture.

9. Recognize the processes of socialization throughout the life cycle.

10. Identify the means and mechanisms of social control in societies.

11. Identify the sociological concept of deviance and its manifestations.

12. Recognize the basic concepts of social structure.

13. Demonstrate an understanding* of social institutions in society.

14. Demonstrate an understanding* of social stratification and its significance.

15. Recognize the importance and role of race and ethnicity in society.

16. Recognize the importance of gender in society.

Suggested Online Resources

American Sociological Association (ASA)
Homepage of the ASA.
Appalachian Regional Commission
The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is a regional economic development agency that represents a partnership of federal, state, and local government. Established by an act of Congress in 1965, ARC is composed of the governors of the 13 Appalachian states and a federal co-chair, who is appointed by the president. Local participation is provided through multi-county local development districts.
Appalshop
Our mission is to enlist the power of education, media, theater, music, and other arts to:
● document, disseminate, and revitalize the lasting traditions and contemporary creativity of Appalachia;
● tell stories the commercial cultural industries don’t tell, challenging stereotypes with Appalachian voices and visions;
● support communities’ efforts to achieve justice and equity and solve their own problems in their own ways;
● celebrate cultural diversity as a positive social value;
● and participate in regional, national, and global dialogue toward these ends.
Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS)/Sociology at Work
The Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS) is a resource promoting integrative approaches and systems perspectives for analyzing complex problems and developing creative, practical solutions.
C. Wright Mills website
Official website for Charles Wright Mills, an American sociologist, and a professor of sociology at Columbia University from 1946 until his death in 1962. Book covers, videos, and other information.
International Sociological Association
The ISA was founded in 1949 by UNESCO, the goal being to represent sociologists everywhere, regardless of school of thought, scientific approaches, or idealogical opinion, and to advance sociological knowledge throughout the world.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
NORC at the University of Chicago is an objective, nonpartisan research organization that delivers
insights and analysis decision-makers trust.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
Social Science
Encyclopedia entry from Britannica.com
Social Science Research Council
The Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is an independent, international, nonprofit organization founded in 1923. It fosters innovative research, nurtures new generations of social scientists, deepens how inquiry is practiced within and across disciplines, and mobilizes necessary knowledge on important public issues.
Social Science Research Council
The Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is an independent, international, nonprofit organization founded in 1923. It fosters innovative research, nurtures new generations of social scientists, deepens how inquiry is practiced within and across disciplines, and mobilizes necessary knowledge on important public issues.
Top 10 TED Talks for Sociology Professionals and Students
Sociology is one of the most complex, yet arguably most important sciences known to man. Looking for some of today’s most pioneering thoughts on the subject? Take a glimpse at some of these cutting-edge, sociological concepts from the experts.
United Nations
An international organization founded in 1945. Currently made up of 193 Member States, where all the world’s nations can gather together, discuss common problems, and find shared solutions that benefit all of humanity.
US Census Data 2020
Quick Facts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Terms and Definitions

Political and Economic Systems
Class notes.
Political and Social Terms
Class notes.

Suggested Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth background information on controversial and current issues. Browse Recent Reports or By Topic to paper topic ideas. Reports written by CQ staff writers.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pro/con database covers a multitude of the outstanding social, environmental, political, etc issues of the day. Various book titles available in the book collection as well.
Sociological Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access Ashland Daily Independent, Lexington Herald-Leader, Huntington Herald-Dispatch, and other newspapers. Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources.